Mountains of Reading: Check-in #4

Sorry for the delay, folks! Sometimes life just gets in the way. Now, I know really mountain climbers don’t hop from peak to peak like this, but the library doesn’t always cooperate with my plans πŸ˜‰ At least that means some kid out there is reading these great books! Back to Scholastic’s 50 summer picks!

Summer16 mtns of rdg

falafelIt Ain’t So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas. This is a must read for every middle grade class. Just. Read. This. Book. This book is everything. 5 stars dylan villain

Dylan the Villain by K. G. Campbell. Enjoyable and entertaining. I would definitely be open to a sequel πŸ˜‰ 3Β½ stars

maybe something beautifulMaybe Something Beautiful by F. Isabel Campoy, illustrated by Theresa Howell. I was so hopeful – this one is multicultural, based on a true story, and features art! The illustrations were indeed beautiful, but the story and text were wanting. 2Β½ stars

Pax by Sarah Pennypacker, illustrated by Jon Klassen. I can tell you exactly when I became invested in this story – paxchapter 13. An interesting ending – not quite a twist, but still a bit unexpected. I enjoyed it, although perhaps not as much as Katherine Applegate (read her blurb on the back cover). I’m still trying to figure out the setting – what war is this?! In the end, it’s not the point of the story, but it’s still nagging me πŸ™‚ 4 stars

clatter of jarsA Clatter of Jars by Lisa Graff. I thought I had heard of her before, and I was right – she wrote The Thing About Georgie, a great book that even my sports-crazed struggling readers have enjoyed. What is about the multiple perspective story that is so popular right now? Ever since Rob Buyea’s because of mr. terupt (2011) and Rick Riordan’s Egypt series (2010), it seems like this narrative structure is everywhere! Graff weaves a fairly gripping mystery with this structure and the result is definitely worth your time. 3-3Β½ stars

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

